Introducing this blog

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a public-facing blog of general commentary. The name of my old one, “The Blog of M’Gath,” is a wordplay on Babylon 5 and would be obscure today, even though B5 is still my favorite science fiction TV series.

The name “Building My World” reflects a philosophical point, which I’ve previously discussed on my website. As human beings, we live by ideas, not just by things. Existing as a person requires having a worldview, even if it’s a simple one. It covers the way things are, the way they could be, and the way they ought to be. A happy, successful life is one in which you build some piece of what ought to be. You aim for a microcosm of the world you want to live in.

What sort of vision would I want to reach? A world in which people value their own lives and respect the rights of others. One where it’s possible for me to live freely, without fear of violence or arbitrary power. One where I can share my values with others and work with them to make good things happen. One where I can help others when it’s appropriate but I’m not subject to anyone’s demands for help.

What concretely am I doing to aim for this? The answers are complicated, and I’ll be working on them in my posts. A few answers for now: Living in New Hampshire, where I’m relatively left alone. Participating in science fiction fandom, which has a long record of organizing volunteer activities without getting government help and has had a strong libertarian element. (Unfortunately, much of fandom have lately been moving strongly in the direction of seeking governmental favors at other people’s expense and ignoring abuses of power for the sake of supporting the party that will give them goodies.) Avoiding situations in which I’d be prey to goon types; for instance, I no longer fly out of United States airports. Keeping myself informed from a variety of sources and checking my facts wherever possible. Reading books and writing songs that show a path to the kind of world I’d like. And now, writing this blog.

To keep myself on track, I’m setting certain ground rules for myself. I’ll write one or two essays a week, not more, and I’ll try to write something every week if I’m not overwhelmed. These will be essays on broad ideas rather than the issue of the day, and they’ll mostly focus on positive values rather than complaints.

Follow along and comment if you like.

2 Responses to “Introducing this blog”

  1. Dan Goodman (@dsgood) Says:

    “Unfortunately, much of fandom have lately been moving strongly in the direction of seeking governmental favors at other people’s expense and ignoring abuses of power for the sake of supporting the party that will give them goodies.”

    Are you talking about conservatives, liberals, or both?

    • Gary McGath Says:

      In general I’d mean both; but in the case of fandom, it’s been overwhelmingly in the liberal direction.

      Or properly, I should say progressive. The abandonment of the term “liberal,” which is akin to “liberty,” in favor of “progressive,” which suggests kinship to viciously authoritarian people like Woodrow Wilson, reflects the movement of the mixed bag known as liberalism away from the free-speech and due-process concerns that once made up its better side.

      Yay, first comment!


Comments are closed.