A blog worth reading

This morning I came upon a blog called The Skeptical Libertarian.” From the reading I’ve done so far, it looks like one that’s worth following. Since I posted recently on the Ron Paul Curriculum, this article on the Ron Paul Curriculum especially interested me. The links to Gary North’s website confirm that North ties Biblical teaching and homeschooling together, which is exactly what I hoped the “Ron Paul Curriculum” would avoid. The article claims that the “‘Paleo-Libertarian’ Taliban” is behind the RPC. This isn’t much of an exaggeration. North admits in an article in Christianity and Civilization that advocacy of religious liberty is just a tactic for gaining theocratic Christian power. His aim is that “the new social order will return to the doctrine of Christian liberty set forth in the Old Testament.” (And you always thought the Old Testament was Jewish!) He means it too. A number of websites quote him as writing, “Clearly, cursing God (blasphemy) is a comparable crime, and is therefore a capital crime (Lev. 24:16).” Update: Here’s a link to The Sinai Strategy, where that quote is found. The book is a horror, showing that North is about as libertarian as Hitler.

When I started writing this post I was trying to be skeptical myself about that comparison to the Taliban. There are many Christians who claim to believe in every passage of the Bible yet don’t support its long list of capital crimes. But it’s clear that if North had his way, I’d be put to death for the things I’ve said about religion. The major differences between North and the Taliban are that he doesn’t advocate violent revolution — and that he doesn’t currently have the power to kill the people he’d like killed.

If the Skeptical Libertarian never does anything else, it’s already proven its worth by letting me catch myself on this error.

Posted in General. Tags: , , . Comments Off on A blog worth reading