Moving to the next career stage

In a week I’ll be starting a new job for a small company. The time I’ve spent as an independent hasn’t been especially profitable, but it’s been very rewarding. I ran a wild ride of a Kickstarter campaign, self-published Files that Last as a result, went to England for a hackathon, worked on FITS open-source software, did several releases of JHOVE, provided consulting for the Harvard Library, and built up my skills. I’ve also had time to bicycle my way into the best physical condition in years.

Most importantly, I’ve recharged myself. At Harvard I was starting to lose my love of programming. That came back when I got away from the problems there. Now I’m looking forward to regular work with a company that’s doing interesting and exciting stuff — and to having a regular income.

The road goes ever ever on.

2 Responses to “Moving to the next career stage”

  1. Eyal Mozes Says:

    Congratulations and good luck!

  2. Terri Wells Says:

    Congratulations! May your new job be rewarding on many levels.


Comments are closed.