Naxos Music Library revisited

My love-hate relationship with Naxos Music Library continues. It has an ever-growing collection of on-demand streaming music. I love being able to listen to unfamiliar composers without any cash outlay beyond the monthly subscription fee.

At the same time, it keeps frustrating me. Some albums break long, continuous pieces into a lot of short CD tracks, and NML pauses for a second or two between tracks. This constantly breaks the mood for those pieces. Its track titles are full of spelling errors, with umlauts and accent marks forgotten. It isn’t even consistent; search for “Schönberg” (yes, I know, why?) and you’ll find a mix of “Schönberg” (beautiful mountain) and “Schonberg” (already mountain).

Yesterday when I logged in I was told that my subscription had expired. I wrote to support and got a reply (a prompt reply, I’ll grant them that!) telling me this was because of “scheduled maintenance.” They don’t even seem to consider it a problem that their software is giving spurious subscription expiration notices:

We apologize for the inconvenience encountered. We would like to inform you that we are performing a scheduled maintenance on all our sites. Service may be intermittent or totally non-accessible at times. We ask for your patience while we work on this.

We will let you know as soon as the sites and apps are accessible again.

Thank you for understanding.

It looks to me as if Naxos is starving its software team and instructing its support people to make excuses. The music is great, but there are times when even YouTube seems better as a source for classical music.

Posted in General. Tags: , . Comments Off on Naxos Music Library revisited