Cruise on a ghost (writer) ship

Yesterday evening I went on a Boston Harbor cruise with some fellow ghostwriters — a haunted cruise, obviously. The host was WriterAccess, which I do some writing for. It was very nice to put faces on what’s normally a faceless operation, and to talk with other writers on how they use the site. I learned a few things as well as having an enjoyable evening.

The vessel was the Liberty Clipper, a real clipper ship with sails. The motor slightly spoiled the effect, but there was so little wind that we’d have been moving very slowly without it. WriterAccess provided free food and drink. Most of the people there were WriterAccess employees, and there were about a dozen writers, I think. A few people were clients. The weather was perfect and the sunset view of Boston spectacular.
Boston sunset seen from Liberty Clipper

By the luck of where I was standing, I was the first passenger on the ship. A little later, I was one of many helping to haul the sails, so I’m now a sailor!

Some people had surprising connections. One guy used to live in Kingston, where I now live. A lady mentioned that she had gotten cats from the Merrimack River Feline Rescue Society, where I help out.

Liberty Clipper

During the trip, I talked with the Web developer about how their site works and about some really bad mistakes you can make in robots.txt. I’m seriously thinking that if I learn Node.js, I might have a chance of getting back into the software development game.

It’s the best perk I’ve had so far as a freelance writer.

3 Responses to “Cruise on a ghost (writer) ship”

  1. Georgina Says:

    It was so wonderful to meet you Gary, thank you for coming out!

    We look forward to seeing you again soon and what a lovely recap!

  2. Doreen M Says:

    Awesome! I’m so sorry I missed this

  3. Ginna Hall Says:

    Glad you could join us Gary! It was so nice to meet you in person. Thank you for the wonderful post.


Comments are closed.